Cone 5 Specialty Firing Scheduled End of October

If you have an item or a few that you would like to go through a cone 5 firing we will be scheduling one the last week of October.

Please place your items on the shelf labeled Cone 5 (right, top shelf) or near this shelf with a note to please fire at Cone 5.

Your items should be on the shelf prior to the morning of the 26th. If you are unable to meet this time frame and we do not have enough pieces to fire on the 26th we can push the firing a couple of days.

Please reach out if you have any questions.

7 Likes

I’m fairly new to understanding all the glazing, but would the Raku glazes from AMACO work in this firing?

No, raku glazes only work outside (poisonous) in the raku technique. Cone 5 is only slightly cooler than Cone 6, they go to a temperature around 2000 degrees.

OK thank you

Yes, thank you for asking.

I think the Raku glazes are set for a lower temperature than we run. While they aren’t food safe, because most metallics aren’t, I think that’s more that they are porous, rather than a solid surface. That’s what I’ve always been told.

And, we once accidentally fired a raku-glazed little cup. It ran like an SOB. I even blame myself a little. The lady doing the glazing made a comment about the lovely copper glaze. I was a bit surprised because I hadn’t noticed that we had a copper, but she had the jar turned so that I didn’t see that it was one of the raku glazes. If I’d been a bit more wary at the time, I would’ve asked to see the jar. I’d ignored it because it was a raku glaze. That was when we moved the raku glazes to a special spot so that the uninformed didn’t accidentally pick them up.

1 Like

Ok interesting!

So what are the cone 5 firings typically for?