Class Request: Copyright Laws

Do we have any legal experts in the house?

I am looking to refresh my awareness of US copyright laws of both physical and digital content. Examples of situations for me would include 3d printing a character who’s likeness resembles a popular icon, or adding music to a homemade film. I have no intention of selling anything, but I’m curious about that too.

Ultimately, I want to ensure that my makes are developed based on sound legal principles, and that I’m using the Space ethically and morally.

2 Likes

Hi Rani,

As a rule of thumb, Legal advice is usually worth as much as you have paid for it. As you are asking for free legal advice here, what you will likely get is something worth less than nothing. This isn’t a dig against you or our community, it is just the troth.

I work as a designer and have been sued for infringement in the past. What I found out from the situation is that you can be sued for pretty much anything, this is especially true when it come to college copyrights and trademarks. The question is often not if you were correct in your use, but rather are you willing to pay in the $10+K to try to prove you were correct in your use. As most of the the items we make are not worth this amount up front, you will just give up at that point rather than fight for use in the case of a claim.

My rule of thumb is be original. If you get a claim and your not making money on the item, just let the item go.Lastly, don’t use content that you do not own while trying to make money. Many artist blur the line on the last item and never get burned, this doesn’t mean it is legal, it just means they didn’t get in trouble.

3 Likes

Nick,

Fortunately, I am not being sued and do not need a lawyer. I remember my high school history teacher giving us a lesson on the topic for awareness. An informative discussion on the shared knowledge would be beneficial as a basis for projects planned in the future.