Car lift and general auto shop training

hi im Karson, looking to get cleared for the auto shop
my days are this Wednesday or thursday 5-8pm
2nd option Monday 3/27- Wednesday 3/30 5-8pm

I take it that you can’t make it to this class?

https://calendar.dallasmakerspace.org/events/view/19384

2 Likes

correct. ill be at work.

I may be there on your Monday evening the 27th.

Other than the lift use - is there something else you are interested in - in automotive?

1 Like

well just looking general car repairs. I was told there is a community toolbox of sorts for everyone, can I use that? are any other classes available? I dont know, im kinda new to makerspace and dont know how to look at a list of whats available.

1 Like

oh. If I wanna machine some rotors down to a new face, would that be automotive or the machine shop?

The big Lime Green tool boxes are in automotive yes and free access yes. Often if you may find some of the automotive tools have migrated to other areas of the Makerspace as well - the Welding shop or Machine shop are typical areas. There are some more advanced or specialty tools in plastic blow molded plastic cases in the green cabinet as well. Special sockets for removing those unfortunate enough to have “freewheeling” pulleys on alternators, or fuel liquid release line tools, and much more.

There is an enclosed aqueous heated parts washer for cleaning parts.
There is a heavy duty hydraulic H frame press.

Automotive does not have a brake lathe - your best bet is a local auto parts store or buy new rotors or drums.

4 Likes

“Brake lathe”. Is that a special tooling? Or a special fixturing? Versus a regular metal lathe…

2 Likes

Two different machines. technically they are both machine metal yes, but to refer to a brake lathe as a metal lathe is a bit of a stretch. A Piper Cub airplane flies and carries people but it is not a Boeing 747-400 Jetliner.