Can I cut this?

I am interested in cutting this speaker cabinet damping material into an exact shape, and I thought of the Thunder lasers. It is a paper backed foam essentially. Does anyone have any advice on doing (or not doing) this? Any tips welcome as I’m a newbie on the lasers. Thanks!

1 Like

It seems iffy. How specific of a shape are we talking? Seems like something that could just be traced and then cut with scissors . overshoot it a little and then trim away until you have a tight fit?

Request a MSDS and compare the materials to the Do NotCut list.

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestions. I’ve got and idea. Maybe I’ll cut some wood templates and trace them with a razor blade.

if you arent already super handy with a razor imho just do scissors. i recently did a foam storage container for a specifically shaped fragile item and it really was just “cut a lil here and there til it fit then clean up the edges if needed”

If it does end up being chemically safe to cut, keep in mind foam is really flammable. Use really high air assist, and keep a vigilant eye. I’ve had this stuff cause flash fires at work that melt aluminum.

2 Likes

Do a test first. Set a bit of it on fire and see if the gas smells poisonous to you. If you discover it’s deadly, don’t use it.

Or better yet, use a machine specifically designed for cutting this kind of material:

https://www.google.com/search?q=foam+wire+cutter&oq=foam+wire+cutter&aqs=chrome..69i57.2071j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

3 Likes

I don’t think we have one of these cutters at the Makerspace, but some of our members do. Maybe you could borrow one from someone you locate on Talk?

And obviously, the testing advice was simply a warning on the dangers of laser-cutting it.

1 Like

Have you consider using a material that is known to be laser safe?

1 Like

Hey, I love a good joke.

Also considering denim insulation, but I was having trouble finding the exact kind I’m looking for.

1 Like