Calculate part cycle time from G-Code

Thank you for the help everyone, and cnc newbie here. I am looking to code an algorithm to estimate part cycle times from a specific machine. Is it possible to calculate cycle time just from a G-Code file? If not, do I need to obtain specifications of the machine in question (like interpolation rates, axis movement times, etc) plus the G-Code to make that calculation? Or is my only hope is to empirically measure and estimate after it has run a few times on the machine?

If I need to do measure cycle time empirically aren’t there G-Code simulators that can estimate cycle time? If so, how do they do it?

Thank you for the help.

Josh

Only 3 things affect cycle time, that I can think of. Feed rate/distance traveled, pauses, and tool changes. Only the last one is machine dependent, but there usually aren’t that many of them.

I take that back: Rapid speeds are also machine dependent.

Thank you for the reply @bgangwere. Do you have any thoughts how the specific stock material plays a role. That isn’t specified in the G Code right?

It won’t make any difference in analyzing the cycle time from the g-code.

Doesn’t it mak a difference because different materials may have different feed rates?

I think @bgangwere is getting at the fact that the material specific f&s will be specified in the g code, IIRC

Doesn’t make any difference because it doesn’t affect the cycle time of a specific g-code program. Softer material can be milled faster, but that will be evidenced by different g-code, specifically in the speeds and feeds.

Okay, then I don’t understand the OP’s question.

Take a look at how octoprint and pronterface get their time estimates, or look at any other open source 3d printer controller. They use gcode so it should be the same idea

1 Like

From the complaints I hear, Octoprint may not be a good example of how to estimate job time…

Eh, everyone complains about something now days.