Building a sailboat (kit)

I thought I’d mention here that I’ve started building a Passagemaker take apart dinghy kit from Chesapeake Light Craft. Not at makerspace though…in my garage. I hope to have it completed by spring of 2020.
I’d be interested in talking with anyone else who has built a boat using epoxy/fiberglass over plywood… or would be happy to let anyone interested take a a look at my progress.

Here’s a link to the kit page.
http://www.clcboats.com/shop/boats/wooden-sailboat-kits/passagemaker/passagemaker-take-apart-dinghy-wooden-boat-kit.html

5 Likes

3 Likes

While I have no experience with building boats, I belong to a sailing club that has a lot of members with lot of knowledge in that area.

You’re welcome to come out and see what we have to offer. Next meeting is 8 Jan 6:30 for Social time and the meeting starts at 7:00:

aasailingclub.com

1 Like

My path as a Maker started when my grandfather rooked me into helping build a sailboat kit. Best memories ever working on it and then sailing on Lake Grapevine.

3 Likes

Making a cedar strip canoe (which uses a similar approach) is on my bucket list, and while I have no hands-on epoxy + fiberglass experience I would be more than will to help you when you get to that stage so that I could gain said experience. I’ve read two books on the subject and watched several how-to videos so I am familiar (in concept) with the rough cutting, wetting out, and application/smoothing, etc. processes. if “many hands makes light work“ and our schedules align, reach out to me via PM.

Some more photos at about 60 hours of epoxying and sanding parts.
Finally started stitching it together a couple days ago.

12 Likes

Couple more pics… I’ve fiberglassed the inside and outside bottom sections.

13 Likes

No Keel?

(Stupid ten Character limit)

Without a keel, wouldn’t it be a canoe? If you put a sail on it without a keel, it’ll just roll over in the water.

probably has a removable keel like a Sunfish/Laser.