Beginner looking for help refinishing old toy

I have an old rope game that was my grandfathers from the 1950s. It is wood, and looks to be hand made. I want to refinish it and give it to my mother as a special Christmas gift.

Am looking for advice

1. It doesn’t look to be lacquered, no thick coating. Looks like it was stained wood.
  2. I want to recreate the labels. I can make them in corel but am not sure what the best way is to transfer them to the wood. Multi color vinyl? Screenprint?
  3. I want to use the original wood, even if I replace the stickers and have to sand it way down.
  4. I have rope rings that are 70 years old. They look dirty. Was going to soak them in oxyclean and hose them down quite a bit. Any advice on cleaning them up>

Any advice? I am a wood working novice.

Thanks

2 Likes

Have you cleaned the wood toy off? Before you get consumed in refinishing, a good cleaning might cancel the need to do that.

That said, my guess would be the graphics were water slide decals.
Earlier this year, one of our members did a class on creating old-school decals. However, Spencer landed a job out of town and moved away. Don’t know whether anyone else knows the process.

2 Likes

Should I clean it with something like windex or is there something better for old wood?

INHO, the Beaty of that game is the years of use and fun that makes it look like it does. To refinish it would remove what makes it cool to me. I know it’s not the same, but when I find an old guitar that is functional but not restored, that’s a find. I have a couple that have been completely restored because they were in such bad shape. Reproducing the game would be cool. Just my 2 cents though.

That is a pretty valid opinion Tom. The pegs look pretty rough, might start with a good cleaning then just repaint the pegs if needed. Is there a technique to artificially age something like the pegs if I do repaint those?