Art consulting, handling, and installation class

Hi everyone,

Happy Monday. Hope everyone is staying dry.

I am somewhat new to the community. I have a lot of experience in the art business and I am interested in teaching a bit about how to curate, place, measure and install art for commercial, private, and museum spaces. There’s a lot of practical information I can provide, but art consulting can be a very creative endeavor.

I am looking to gauge interest and learn a bit about submitting a proposal for a class.

Thank you,
Jason Stallings

Here’s a bit about me: www.jason-stallings.com

1 Like

Hey Jason! Welcome to DMS! I’m one of the Fine Arts teachers here. We have a Fine Arts Special Interest Group get together this Thursday at 6:00pm in the space. Currently we have 4 Fine Arts teachers who teach different mediums: oils, watercolor, calligraphy, mixed media, etc. we don’t have anyone teaching acrylic, life drawing, photography, paper mache, origami, etc at this time (we do have different drawing classes though). We do welcome teachers of all fine art mediums.

Feel free to come by on Thursday and we can get a gauge if anyone is interested in these classes.
Events |Dallas Makerspace Calendar

Most of our classes are more for fun and basic foundations but you never know who has been wanting some of these more gallery style information from
Other committees.

I’m also tagging our creative arts committee chair @mreynolds so you can discuss with him the process of putting classes on the calendar and setting up your tax info.

Let me know if you have other questions!

Gena

1 Like

Hey Jason, Welcome to the space!
I had one class in ‘museum studies’ in college, and it was nothing like enough, I’d love to learn more.

At DMS we have an annual 10x10 art show, as well as our steam-roller print show- both are driven by members.