Anyone want to Review My Knife Design

I have modeled an knife design for a backpacking knife. It is intended to be light but not stupid light. Which is to say that I want it to be functional. Mostly tasks like trimming loose threads, guylines, etc., but I might need to sharpen a stick for an improvised tent stake. I chose a sheepsfoot for a few reasons:

• I don’t want to cut something unintended (Backpacking gear can be delicate, and i don’t want to spend a night cold and wet)
  • I wanted a design that is relatively easy to get very sharp
  • I wanted a design that will be relatively easy to execute (This is my first project where I’m actually making the blade)

I am thinking of using a high carbon steel. Rust is a concern, but the carbon Opinels are a popular choice.

https://a360.co/2EDtCgU

1 Like

I am primarily concerned about whether my hollow grind is reasonable or if I am likely to run into strength/durability issues. Major ergonomic problems that I don’t see, etc.
I expect to have to make a few variations to get a really great design due to small size (2" blade, slightly over 4" overall).

Replying to remember. I’m in Amsterdam for the next few days, I’ll have more to say this weekend. Looks cool though.

2 Likes

Get back to eating cheese and wandering beautifully.

2 Likes

Massaged the design with the intention of shaving some weight. Is 1/16" too thin? The idea is that it would be a light duty, in a pinch kind of tool. Probably the toughest use it will see is sharpening a pencil or cutting some guy line.

1 Like

Kinda depends. Are you looking to harden it (aka what kind of steel will you use)?