Any Bench Jewelers?

Do we have any active bench jewelers here? I’m just getting started, with no official training, and trying to find someone local who is willing to share knowledge.

I’m currently at Stuller’s Bench Jewelers Workshop in Lafayette if anyone else is here :blush:

Any stone setting classes coming maybe?

Yes! I’m Joseph, the department chairperson. I hope you had fun at the Battle of the Benches. I do wish I could have made it down there. Maybe next year!

There are a few members here that are bench jewelers. @Jcastanon most recently taught a bezel-setting class. Tonight @Ryanmcdowell is teaching an enameling class. @sroriginals has a soldiering class on 4/10, @John_Marlow will have a casting class up soon, and @paulmarkow will hopefully have an intro to hand engraving in the next few weeks.

We have a Jewelry committee meeting on the second Tuesday of each month via Google Meet. If you would like to join, the info is on the Events calendar. In the meantime, stop by the department to introduce yourself and say hello!

5 Likes

For clarification and truth-in-advertising, I’m not a bench jeweler - just an engineer who needed to learn how to make castings.

3 Likes

Thanks Joseph! I’ll be signing up for classes for sure!

@nausser915, I just took a look at the jewelry cams to get an idea of what equipment is available since I was last a member (a couple years ago) and see the LaserStar welder (YES!!). Do you know the model (so I can read up on it before I visit the space next)? I assume that is one of the items that will require training sign-off before being able to use - are those regularly scheduled, or just upon request?