3D Printing Costs/Help -

Hi. I am fairly new to Makers Space but loving it. I have pasted a link to something I would like to print as a gift to an architect we work with and have a few questions:

1. What is the best printer to print something like this on so that it is finished nicely and may only need painting?
  2. How much will this cost to print in materials roughly?
  3. Can this be scaled to a smaller size easily?
  4. Is there someone that might be willing to help me print this?

Thanks!

Resin will typically give better details while filament printers will give lower cost.

Slicer will give you an estimate on how much material is used before you print. Can opt for less internal structure to reduce cost.

Scaling would be done in slicer before printing. Yes it’s easy to do, but you’ll be sacrificing quality depending how small you want to go.

1st things 1st are you checked out on our printers?

It can be scaled easily but it might not be usable once it’s scaled. The issue is going to be the thickness of spires, walls, and other details. If, for instance, the flying buttresses are 2mm thick in the model and you want to print it at 25% scale, then they would be 0.5mm which would fail in the printing (too thin).

From the photos, though, it doesn’t look like a huge model. You might want to just print it at full scale. Consider using the Phrozen - from my calibrated eyeball (haha) it looks like it should fit or need minimal resizing.

Don’t pay by the gram to print something this big. Buy a bottle of resin and then it will cost you just what the resin bottle cost.

1 Like

I had looked this up before and the minimum thickness is .2mm. Note the decimal point before the two.

(Manufacturer’s) Opinions differ.