Computer Aided Design (CAD) classes

I want to gauge the interest in an introductory class on CAD design using Autodesk Inventor 2014/2016.

There are plenty of courses on how to physically create things using 3D printers and CNC milling machines but not much in the way of how to actually take the first step in those processes. That step being to get the idea from your head into virtual space.

Going to online libraries to get parts is great but what if you want to modify what you found to suite your specific needs? What if you can’t find what you want at all?

I have scheduled two classes for a very basic introduction to CAD design (should go live in a day or so) where we will model a small part and while doing so touch on a number of features Inventor has to create part models. This round of classes are for absolute beginners but if the interest is there I would be willing to offer a more advanced class.

7 Likes

Speaking for myself, I think this is sorely lacking at DMS, in part because some folks “just get it” and have trouble teaching someone like me, for whom this does not “come naturally”.
Additionally, I think some of us are total morons (in addition to being beginners and not “naturals”) when it comes to this, so i hope you’re patient. I hope to attend. I hope it goes swimmingly.

3 Likes

When I came up with the idea for this beginner course, I was worried it was too basic and that people would quickly work ahead. I think if you have a basic understanding of shapes and how to measure things this class won’t be too much.

1 Like

I can make a wicked CUBE in SketchUp!!!

… that’s about it… :wink:

1 Like

Well you’ve already mastered the first step of my class!! (Don’t spoil it for the rest)

2 Likes

What is the name of the class and what days?

YES! YES! YES!
Sorely needed at the makerspace. I took Andy Allman’s class on the free Onshape.com CAD software and loved every minute of it.

The classes are scheduled as follows:
Thursday 3/16 7:30-9:30