Zing Laser Software - What should I use?

Hi all, I am new to the Makers Space and love it!

If I want to engrave or cut on the Zing Laser, which program do I use?

Do create it the image in Ink scape then import to RDWorks or is there a program just for the Zing Laser?

Any and all infor would be appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome to DMS!

I am by no means an expert but I believe the Zing is completely run like a “printer” off a PDF. At least that is what I have done in the past. Folks with more knowledge will chime in for sure.

2 Likes

Welcome to DMS!

The Zing runs as if it were a printer. It only “prints” pdf vector files and it doesn’t use RDWorks.

In other words, you need to create a vector file using some vector program - Inkscape or Adobe Illustrator - and then do a Save As to a vectorized pdf file. If you do that from Illustrator then the pdf file will be the right format. Note that I’m emphasizing a vectorized pdf file. A pdf document file isn’t going to work.

You really need “Laser 102: Zing Basics. Required class to use the Epilog Zing laser. Covers Inkscape, creating compatible PDF file, laser safety, and using the Epilog Zing.” Unfortunately, I don’t see that on the calendar. @Talkers … are you the Zing instructor?

When you stroke your vectors in Inkscape or Illustrator, they should be 0.001" thick or it will interpret them as rasters. The strokes need to be primary colors (any color with either #00 or #ff as the hex portion of each RG and B). If you use Illustrator, you need to set your file color mode to RGB. It defaults to CMYK and then the laser will interpret all your colors as black, despite the fact that they look like red or whatever to you.