Wine Cube Storage Rack

Hi, everyone. I’m new to the space, but way overdue. I’m so glad to be among like-minded thinkers and doers!

So, I’m beginning the research and planning stages for a wall-mounted wine cube storage rack that I’d like to build in a closet that I’m converting to a bar and I was wondering whether anyone here (1) had any experience manufacturing inebriant shelving, and/or (2) was interested in helping in any stage of my project, or even working in parallel and building your own. I’ve watched a few YouTube videos to see what others have done, but I haven’t found anyone who’s reached the level of detail/commitment that I hope to achieve with my project (e.g., using long solid pieces of quality hardwood with half-lap joints and proper beveling in the corners).

My closet is 32" wide, and I think I can squeeze in anywhere from 48" to 64" vertically. The ceiling is pretty high (101"), and it’s a fairly deep closet (37") so even if I come all the way down to the planned countertop (which would sit at around 35" high, atop a wine fridge), I think the bottles would be set back far enough so as to not crowd my counter space. Right now I’m interested in figuring out a router-jig to make the half-lap joinery more efficient, although I’m sure there will be other challenges!

In any event, if anyone has any tips/pointers, or is interested in building their own, I’d love to hear from you.

Cheers,
Anthony

1 Like

No inebriant shelving experience but depending on your design and the width of the joints you might consider a dado stack on the table saw instead of the router.

I would also recommend calculating how much total weight this shelving (and your longest unsupported span) might hold just to make sure it doesn’t come in undersized or with a joint that could fail. Just as a sanity check.