When is the next JSM meeting?

I joined back in October. November was spent learning a lot. I’ve been taking classes. I’m ready to share my knowledge and skill.

I’m a JA Certified Bench Jeweler, Graduate Gemologist, and active bench jeweler since 1995. I’ve been looking at things that people might need, classes, ideas and processes that people are interested in. What I’m lacking right now is what is currently available, so I know where to fit in around the edges.

Oh, says I to himself, I’ll attend the next JSM meeting and introduce myself there. I’ll be quiet, listen, and offer perceived need. Except…

If there’s not an open meeting, would one of the committee members be willing to sit down with me and catch me up?

And finally, any general followers of this committee, what sorts of things do you want to learn? Bearing in mind that I work almost exclusively with fine jewelry, gold, platinum, silver, diamonds, gemstones.

~David

6 Likes

Paging @nausser915 (committee chair)

Welcome!

1 Like

Hi David! Sounds like you can bring a wealth of knowledge to the jewelry department and I would love for you to join us. Our next committee meeting will be the first week of January, a date is still TBD. However, I am at the Space frequently and sure we can catch up before then if you want. PM me and we can go from there. I am looking forward to meeting you!

2 Likes

Glad to have you, i ma one of our foks doing art jeweley, instead of fine jewelry,
So you can do things I cant do ( and since my major vision loss, msny ginr jrerlty yrvhniques are nt
available to me)

Welcome! We for sure need tool training like the rolling mill and vulcanizer/casting equipment. I’ve had the most success letting people learn the mechanics in copper/brass and sometimes silver before they have the confidence to upgrade to gold.