Welding instructor 1 on 1

Hello, I am new to making and would love to learn to weld. I have no clue where to begin I would be willing to hire a one on one instructor for a few hours this summer. I was curious if you have any suggestions on how to hire a teacher?
Best,Matt

I might be able to help with that. What are you planning on doing with the knowledge?

2 Likes

Hello, There is no specific project that i have in mind. I know that welding is a dangerous art-form and would love to learn with supervision. That being said I am an architecture student and we use welding to make furniture and work on architectural models. But in reality I would love to learn welding to one day create metal sculpture.

1 Like

In my (limited experience) sculpture welding and structural are different beasts. I ain’t concerned about penetration to any real degree on a steel peacock unless it’s uncomfortably huge and I’m trying to defy gravity. Heck, most of my more complicated pieces were just tack welded

Great to know! yeah i really am just looking to get someone to teach me the beginnings of welding. I’m sure doing sculptural work takes years to master. I just want to learn the basics and one day hope to be good enough to try and weld sculpture.

Go for it. You can always practice in the scrap bin once you’re signed off. I wasn’t a master and after 10+ years no practice am now terrible but I only had one special problems track in the big metal shop. So far it’s all still holding together :joy:

I can show you how to turn it on and make a very ugly tack and bead

Awesome any help is welcome!

10 4. You’ll need to take hot process safety before we can do anything

And the relavent class for whatever process they want to use as well.

Sounds good! Do i take these at the maker space?

Yes. I have a Hot Process Safety class scheduled for this Sunday, 6/30. It’s on the calendar: calendar.dallasmakerspace.org.