Waterslide Decals and hundreds of tiny bubbles

Folks, this is my very first time attempting a waterslide decal. (Stacy acts like I should know this from doing temporary tattoos…nope. :stuck_out_tongue:) It came out pretty good for the most part, except for a whole bunch of tiny bubbles you can see, especially evident in the black area, that look smaller than the kind you could easily prick with a pin. They aren’t really visible from the reverse, though, only from this obverse side.

Details: Waterslide applied to a thin sheet of acrylic cleaned with rubbing alcohol and a paper towel, then swept off paper towel dust with a fine brush. Used Rolurious clear waterslide decal paper for inkjets; printer set to Best Quality photo paper, looked good after printing.

Are there techniques I could perform to avoid this in the future and get a nice smooth finish (besides just printing it mirrored and flipping it over)?

First Waterslide

(It still looks better than what was there originally!)

1 Like

When you apply, are you sort of squeegeeing out the air bubbles? Like on small ones (like coin size), you can sorta start at one side and just roll your thumb across it, but large ones, use a tool to start at one side and slide across to squeeze out air bubbles and excess water?

Right after I applied the decal, I tried sliding my fingers across, or my fingers covered with paper or cloth, and generally it just wanted to bunch up the decal and wrinkle it. I was thinking about finding a small rolling pin-like device to smush all these little bubbles out, but Stacy advised against it… Might be worth a shot anyway, especially now that it’s definitely dry.

I don’t think it would be helpful to roll after its dry. The bubble void would have already dried unadhered. You want the bubbles to squish out while it’s wet so everything sticks down.

Re rolling pin you mentioned
There’s little rolling pin thingies (technical term) used in printmaking to smoosh stuff down without distortion