Vaporhone use / maintenance

Folks I’m a newbie member, I have several motorcycle parts / aluminum that I need to Clean up on the 800. Have read prior threads.

I also have a couple of magnesium front hubs that I’d like to do as well. Is that okay? Not grinding the magnesium just blast so I can paint.

I’m willing to adopt the machine care and feeding. I’ve been to the VHT website, doesn’t look hard.

Can anyone who knows the machine and DMS process meet up with me and show me where the media is? Or reply here, send me an email.

Also do we have only aluminum oxide? Any glass beads? I’d prefer glass to finish cases and hubs.

I plan to go try it out tomorrow morning early 2/16 on some hubs and triple trees.

I cant be up there this weekend. We used to use Glass bead but it breaks down so quickly. Aluminum oxide we can get a couple months out of it. Glass bead, not so much. @rlisbona was talking about doing some parts in it as well. It’s not difficult to do a water & media change. Aluminum Oxide has gone us recently in price, we used to get it a Northern for 40-45$ for 25lbs. Last time I bought it, it had went to 73$ for 25lbs. It takes 25lbs to do a media switch, dont add more than that.

1 Like

Do we have any spare media?

I cant say for sure. I’m not sure if @yashsedai bought extra last time. I think he did.

If we dont have any more, let me know, I’ll pick some up tomorrow

Where would this spare media be hanging out? I can go look.

Look for a white 2 gallon bucket, that’s what it normally comes in. I’ve see it under the tables and in the teacher cabinet. I haven’t seen some recently though.

I’ll go back again to check the teacher cabinet. Somebody was in there welding. And I’ll see what’s in the smaller buckets. I spotted the big bucket that was grease, and there were a couple of small buckets, but I didn’t check for contents.

They look like this,