Tig Welding Introduction

Hello,
I am new to the Makerspace and I have an interest in learning how to do some TIG welding. Would anybody be able to help me out with this?

Thanks,

Ryan Bailey

That’s going to be a hard one sadly. I think right now, I’m the only TIG instructor that regularly taught before COVID. I’m not teaching classes as I feel it would be pretty difficult to do so safely (not a dig at DMS, but more of my personal risk profile and how close you need to get to someone to teach TIG correctly).

You might have some luck with @hon1nbo who is the metal shop chair doing a 1:1 or possibly showing up and helping at a metal shop commitee meeting. The gentleman’s agreement is, you show up and help clean for the 5 hours or so and they make sure you get signed off on whatever you wanted to learn to use somehow during that time/day.

1 Like

Well thanks for the quick reply, and I totally understand where you’re coming from.
@hon1nbo Do you think you would be able to do a 1 on 1 with me?

1 Like

Have you ever welded before? I can teach you to be safe, but sadly I’m pretty shoddy at TIG so whilst I could sign you off for safety I expect you’ll be seeking guidance on better technique on youtube and elsewhere.

My 1:1 time is limited, but if I can find some it will be mid next week. The metal show meeting is likely your best bet at the moment. The first Saturday of every month starting at Noon.

-Tails

1 Like

It will be a whole new learning process for me. I planned on learning with youtube and practice.
And I saw the Saturday meeting, unfortunately the first Saturday of October is my sisters birthday and I will be out of town. If you could find some free time mid next week when would it be?
@hon1nbo

Ryan,