Telephoto mount reduce strain associated with using large camera

my project has been tested. now I am working on make it producible tripod gimbaled assembly that for securing large heavy (>10 lbs) telephotos lenses . The range of motion is 70 degrees vertically and 360 degrees horizontally. The assembly is inexpensive and easy to build.
Any suggestions about securing possible intellectual rights

Sounds like what you need is a patent. I am not a lawyer and I do not play one on television.

A trademark gives you no protection against someone copying your gizmo and selling it under a different name. If it is inexpensive and easy to build, trade secret protection will not work. Your biggest problem will be people making the unit for their own use.

do you know how to get funding?
is there investment that could fund a business opportunities?

Here is one example of such an organization.
http://www.northtexasangels.org/
At least one member @ DMS is involved with it, so thatā€™s where I remember the name.
I only know this one, and others exist.
Iā€™ve never gotten anything funded, nor even tried, but my point is, there are investment firms out there you can ā€˜shark tankā€™ your idea to and see if they want to fund you.
As for protecting intellectual property, if I recall my notes correctly:

• keep it to yourself (anyone you discuss it with should have an NDA)
  • check with google patent search, and other research methods that cost you nothing to try to make sure your idea is unique (USPTO https://www.uspto.gov/patents-application-process/search-patents)
  • contact a patent attorney and get the ball rolling, if patent is right for your goalsā€¦
  • develop your product
  • market or sell license on your product
    (Iā€™m sure Iā€™m missing some stuff hereā€¦)
    Hereā€™s an article with some basics (like, the 4 major facets of ā€œprotectableā€ intellectual property: trademark, copyright, patent, trade secret).

Good luck. Sounds nifty!
:thumbsup:

1 Like