Storage shed project / build log

This is sort show-and-tell material, but it’s A) in planning and B) not at all occurring at DMS.

Being a first world resident, I have a tendency to accumulate too many possessions. My ‘solution’ to this problem has been to evict vehicles from the garage and allow things to accumulate there instead. This is a poor solution - I’d like to take advantage of being able to store my vehicle indoors at least half of the time and I’ve had a hankering to do this for years now. It will also force some paring-down of of inventory.

Laundry list:

• Roll-up door for easy in-out of yardwork tools
  • Deployable ramp for rolling stock
  • Conventional door for daily access
  • Utility window for illumination
  • Largest size allowed
  • Shelving for tote storage
  • Floor storage for lawnmower, shredder
  • Pegboard / specific hangars for yard tools

Having little interest in doubling my costs and quadrupling the time commitment if a building permit is required, I’m opting to stay below the permit envelope in my city:

• <120 ft²
  • <10ft high
  • No concrete slab
  • No electrical
  • No plumbing

It’s a storage shed, so lack of electrical and plumbing isn’t a problem. I was going to do pier-and-beam anyway so lack of a slab isn’t a big deal.

Amazingly, there are no side or rear setback requirements other than staying out of easements.

Here are the plan views:

8 x 14 is 112 nominal square feet. Including 3/8" siding it’s closer to 113 square feet.

Outer platform will be 2x8; joists will be 2x6. I believe that a dozen 4x4 along the perimeter will be sufficient support. Contemplating using PVC pipe casement on the piers up to the height of the outer platform to prolong their life and reduce ‘conflict’ with the weedeater.