Silversmithing for beginners?

Hi,

My grandfather recently passed away and, in remembering him we went over some of the things he made. He spent a few decades silversmithing and made some pretty cool stuff like candlesticks and ceremonial cups that fit together. Any idea where a total beginner can start making similarly cool stuff? I’m looking for video series, books, or maybe someone who can tutor me. All ideas appreciated!

4 Likes

@JBluJkt @sroriginals and @Cairenn_Day all teach classes in metalsmithing with copper and silver.

1 Like

We do have some classes in copper and silver smithing, though nothing that approaches what your grandfather made, based on your picture. The hydroflux torch class introduces you to soldering silver or copper, making a band ring. Taught about once a month. Cairenn teaches fold forming copper, making shapes from flat sheet. She has a class Wednesday night making leaves of various shapes. Other classes we might offer include working with wire in various ways, using a rolling mill to put texture on metals, and random other classes. Johnny teaches or runs the casting labs once a month, making castings from wax or 3d printed resin in silver or bronze. We also have a hydraulic press, and may get classes in that organized sometime this year.
If the class you want to take is full, still come by and watch. Sometimes not everybody shows up, and you can still get in the class. Look forward to seeing you. And bring pictures of your grandfather’s work…

4 Likes