Sherline lathe training needed

Hi,
I got my door fob this morning and saw 2 manual lathes similar to what I used back in school and 2 Sherline lathes without chucks and tool holders etc near the machines.

I understand it is required to have training prior to using the Sherlines. It is tough to have an one-on-one training under current COVID conditions. So, I watched this Youtube video to understand what the machine is. This video helped me a lot:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNI2La-L9xc

Would it be helpful if the Machine Shop Committee can consider using this kind of videos as part of the training materials. DMS may have other topics not covered in existing public videos in which case, DMS can just create those specific ones. Then, trainings can be made virtual and benefit the whole community.

My degree is in manufacturing engineering and had experience making 4- and 5-axis NC programs for cutting jet engine airfoil. Using the manual Sherline lathe is totally in my capability. Therefore, I like to request to substitute DMS required Sherline lathe training with my professional manufacturing engineering experiences and the Sherline lathe video.

Thanks for consideration.
Sean

Actually, 1:1 is mostly what we’re doing because of COVID.

We have a pre-req for lathes at DMS. Should be a no-brainer for you if you have prior lathe experience. Can send the quiz answers to the destination in the slide deck and get the ball rolling: Colchester link

Once you do I can arrange a time with you to sign you off on the Clausing and the sherlines. I’ll cut some stock and give you a few requirements; as long as you show you can operate the machine safely we can often sign you off with that prior experience rather than require a full class.

We can do the same for the bridgeport if you have prior experience with it.

Cheers,
-Jim

Jim,
Thanks for the instructions. The link you provided does not exist. I found this file: