[Shelved] Mini-Hackathon - Automate Woodshop Dust Collection

Since recently becoming chair of Digital Media, I have decided that we will begin hosting quarterly hackathons and monthly mini-hackathons.

We will be hosting our first Mini-Hackathon soon. Something wanted at the space is dust collection automation in the woodshop: Automate the dust collection system

Although I have not done any testing, I believe this can be accomplished with security system door magnets > Arduino > relay

This post is to determine the level of interest in this event and no date has been set. If you are wanting to participate, please join this thread to show your interest.

1 Like

I’m no programmer, but it would be cool to participate in something like this.

If we keep the manual dust collection gates then lockout switches on them would be a good way to ensure that the assigned one is open before you could power on the device.

Or we could trigger on when the gate is opened, preventing the dust collector from running with all gates closed and streamlining workflow. When I am the only one working on one side of the shop or the other, it feels like I spend more time operating the dust collection system than working wood.

Go to tool, set up, open gate, walk to dust collector, turn on, walk to tool, turn on, do work, turn off, walk to dust collector, turn off walk to tool, close gate.

We could easily cut out both trips to the dust collector. It might make people more likely to use the dust collector, but I wouldn’t bet on that.

I’m gonna be a Debbie downer here and say we shouldn’t do the woodshop dust control for this. Its under fire marshal scope right now and we need professional level attention to the dust problem.

Alternative could be a working RFID system for the tools that need training. No fire marshal involvement on that one and it’s something we need that so many people have said they would do.

See @Tapper post on this too

5 Likes