Sewing 101 class

Looking to get into sewing. Are there plans for any 101 classes.

We’re low on teachers for sewing 101 right now. Sometimes @dryad2b will teach it, and I believe @squaredroots was thinking about teaching one.

Do we have a checklist of what needs to be covered? I could probably learn to teach it but I’d hate to skip something that needs to be included.

I don’t think we ever got a comprehensive list together. When I’m signing off people as long as they can thread it and sew in a straight line they’re good. I’d imagine for total newbies a small project class like a little bag or a potholder something would be good, but might take longer.

Yeah, that makes sense. I’ll talk to someone face to face about teaching soonish then.

1 Like

No, I’m actually terrible with sewing, I meant I wanted to take it again since I needed the practice xD I can teach other things besides sewing until I get better

Ohhhhhhhhh my bad. :joy:

1 Like

I can leap out there and teach a class. I’m more in your boat – can you thread it and sew a straight line? You’re good. I throw in mending and/or a tote bag, since you’ll never remember if you don’t have a bit of practice.

2 Likes

Does Tuesday night 10/8 work for you?

Reboosting…

If a class gets scheduled, I’d definitely take it too!

1 Like

I am a new member and been sewing for years. Can you sign me off to use the industrial machine? I am working on a couple of project that requires a heavier duty machine than my heavy duty machine I have at home.

I don’t think we’ve actually got an industrial machine yet. The Thor is super-heavy-duty, and I *believe" that the industrial machine is still just slowly wending its way toward us…

How heavy-duty? The Pfaff, which was one of our original leather machine (due to all-steel construction), might be heavy enough?