Scroll saw blade change

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the space and am getting the hang of all the tools. I’d like to use the scroll saw but I can’t figure out how to install a blade on the scroll saw. Is there any sort of quick explanation someone could offer or maybe a document that explains it?

Thanks in advance for the help.

2 Likes

I don’t know the specifics, but I think this will help. I found the operator’s manual online and page 13 has detailed instructions.

The main Tools listing on the wiki has a lot of links to user manuals, etc. (including this one) and is a good resource.

3 Likes

If it’s the Makerspace’s Excalibur, then it’s just like the Excalibur I have at home.

Raise the plastic lever located on top of the oscillating arm at the front of the machine,

Then loosen the 2 small top and bottom nuts holding the existing blade. These nuts are located both above and below the scrollsaw table. Remove the old/broken blade.

Thread the new blade through the hole in the table and tighten each nut back down onto each end of the new scrollsaw blade. You have to position each end of the blade between the nut and the small housing where the nuts connects to the housing. Finger tight is all it takes.

Finally, readjust the scrollsaw blade tightness by first flipping the top lever back to it’s ‘rear-facing’ position, and then slowly twist the large knob located at the rear/top of the top arm until you have the desired blade tightness.

Good luck!

Scott

3 Likes

Thanks everyone for the help. I’ll give it a shot tomorrow to see if I can figure It out. Fingers crossed.

You’ll need to use an Allen wrench on the bottom side because the thumb screw disappeared.

After tightening the blade, run the saw for 30 seconds. Then, release the top lever, release the top screw, retighten, and flip the lever again. This takes out any stretch in the blade

3 Likes