School bus / first post on talk

This is my first time using talk ever, posting or reading so my apologies in advance if I doing this incorrectly.

Is there anyone who needs to be asked or permission requested for the following…

I am a professional heavy diesel mechanic and I just purchased a school bus that I intend to convert to an RV, given that it is too big to drive into the automotive garage, and knowing all the rules apply of do not leave anything overnight / take mess with you whenever you leave. I suspect there wouldn’t be an issue with me driving it up beside the automotive garage in the back parking lot and working on it after hours sometimes .?.

I intend to just do this in order to have a place to do work like install my snap lock floor and fabricate interior parts, not major construction / destruction.

thanks.

Warning, this is a topics that in the past has been an issue at DMS. Others have under taken the same project, made and broken promises to BOD and Committees around it. So you are wading into warm waters on this.

But, as a newbie, here are the rules you need to watch out for first.

https://dallasmakerspace.org/wiki/Rules_and_Policies

Then there is generally following the Automotive Committee Rules. Category:Automotive - Dallas Makerspace.

I hope these links help you in planning how to do your project at DMS.

1 Like

Omg sorry guys I typed something and somehow I screwed it up.

Having some past experience with this kind of project, it’s going to be difficult. The bus conversion I got Tom Sawyer’ed into helped with was far and away the most ambitious project I’ve seen at DMS on the basis of both scope and sheer tonnage.

Some semi-organized thoughts:

• Working on vehicles outside technically violates the lease. It’s not a huge problem if no one complains - you don’t disrupt other tenants and you keep it neat. After hours and weekends are good for this. but…