Save the Pot Challenge!

Anita’s amazing teapot suffered greatly in the most recent kiln firing.

The pot has adhered to the firing plate via glaze (glass) and we are looking for a way detach it without destroying the piece. You can come view it in Fired Arts (please be careful with handling and use two hands). Feeling problem solvish? We could use your help!

Thoughts?

2 Likes

1 Like

Because I have no imagination, nor knowledge…

I’m not clear if that shelf’s already dumpster-bound. If so, diamond blades on angle grinder/dremel and trim trim trim…

Oh, and that pot is absolutely gorgeous! So sorry the situation is so sticky!

6 Likes

I wonder if the right acid carefully placed could eat either metal or glaze until it frees, bet it wouldn’t take much, then neutralize…it’d be gentle to the pot and might not be very noticeable afterwards

(The recent metal etching class got me thinking, plus I know there’s ways to etch glass too, different chemicals of course. And if it’s metal that might sacrifice the support, but…)

Beautiful pot.

3 Likes

Dremel with a diamond bit to cut through what you don’t want to keep.

3 Likes

Wire saw?

4 Likes

The glaze on that pot is amazing. I hope that someone can save it. Please be careful though, I cut myself pretty badly on glaze that ran.

3 Likes

Thanks, it was over fired, this caused a glaze melt down. It was suppose to be purple.

2 Likes

We don’t need to talk about how many times this has happened to student work :laughing:…so ultimately it comes down to if you’re willing to sacrifice the stilts whether it can be fixed since the only other alternative to saving the pot AND the stilt is to fire to a fusing to liquefy the glass and use tongs to pull it off and into another kiln for annealing.

I know it was an accident…but just FYI when using new glazes or unknown combos I tend to put it on a biscuit instead of a stilt that can be kiln washed so it doesn’t stick and any runs can be ground off.

1 Like