[Resolved] I'm no expert, does this look safe?

This looks dangerous even to me. Or is this considered best practice at most automotive places?

2 Likes

That’s his new super charger! can’t wait to see the hood scoop.

2 Likes

Gonna need a long extension cord for it to continue to work properly…

2 Likes

What it lacks in inches of Hg it makes up in raw CFM.

2 Likes

The fan does have a cage on it at least.

1 Like

In all seriousness, if there’s nothing but friction holding that fan in place, you’re looking at An Accident Waiting To Happen™.

1 Like

The fan belt on that one is also lose and now gravity is working against it, if the fan stops working the belt came off.

Or is the AC out in the workshop?

Interesting

1 Like

I told the guy that it really looked seriously unsafe. He seemed really put out that I “objected”. I said, "I’m not objecting. What I said was, “That looks really unsafe.”
He didn’t seem to care. Even if it meant someone else could get hurt because of it.

I don’t get people.

Would this be allowed in any professional automotive shop?

3 Likes

Honestly, it seems unsafe but I have no concrete reason why it shouldn’t be allowed.

Here’s the only manual for the fan I know of:

Kee - thank you for trying.
I can’t speak for automotive, but that is the kind of behavior that would earn someone a permanent vacation from the machine shop. All jokes aside - We take safety seriously. I’ve told our members that if they see someone doing something unsafe in the MS to tell them so (nicely). If they want to argue to find me or David and we’ll tell them in NO UNCERTAIN TERMS or kick them the hell out. DMS should have little tolerance for STUPID, At least now we have a face to associate with stupid and keep an eye out for.

3 Likes

If he still has the fan on his engine, tell him that I said to get it the F*&% off… Right NOW, No excuses.