Recent talk of a formicarium, and what it means! (Ant-keeping!)

Hey there, makers, members, and aliens in disguise! A few of you have seen me around the Space over the last month or so, and many of you have turned to calling me ‘Ant-Man’ for my ‘prototype formicariums’ I’ve been 3D printing, cutting, etc.

Even more recently, talk hit the forums about a formicarium project in the science Committee! Well, here it is!
Thanks to Eric, Chad, and all the other awesome people in the Science Committee, the Space will have it’s very own colony!

I’ve been ant-keeping for a few years, on-and-off, but I’m going Thorax-to-the-wall with this new project! Over the course of the next few weeks, I’ll be going through the finishing steps to get some young colonies up to the space! We’ll be monitoring behavior, food consumption, and everything else you could possibly imagine with these ants! There might even be some play, researching deep inside ant genetics and seeing what we find!

Whether you have a simple appreciation for the ants, or a deep invested interest in their ways, I implore you guys to come to the class on Friday, November 4th. (Approval pending!) We aim to be setting up a few small cameras to watch the ants up close, which will be streamed the the whole space to watch at any time!

If you think you have some advice, information, questions, comments, concerns, etc, let me know!

Also! I figured I’d share some pictures of the ants I’ve been nursing for a while now!

This young colony is about two months old. The first workers started moving around about two weeks ago, and as you can see, they’ve established a graveyard/bathroom on the dry side of the test tube! (Left-hand side).

This colony is much younger, at about five weeks old. The first workers just started moving around last week, and you can see on the left, one pupa is getting its color and will soon be walking!