RC Car Paint Job

So if you saw me at the space today, you probably saw me showing off my RC Car Body. This is my first attempt at painting a car body and it isn’t perfect but it does look good from 4 feet away. :smile:

5 Likes

Great classic flame job, I am sure I wouldn’t be able to do anything close to that.

2 Likes

Now that looks like a great paint job!

2 Likes

Mine usually were just candy apple red. That looks great. Maybe you should have a class.

2 Likes

That is a great idea @Lampy. It was really difficult to find information on all the different paints and processes. I think I’ll put something together to teach others how to do it easily.

2 Likes

Forgot to add the reason mine were one color 1) because I lacked the skills and 2) didn’t know anyone that bothered to find out how. Including a one well known Mike that used to own a hobby shop near the space.

1 Like

@Nick ,

If I get a clear Mustang GT Coupe body, can you put this paint job on it?

1 Like

With your help, I’m sure we could do that.

1 Like

Interesting…so you masked the clear, sprayed the black, unmasked, then sprayed the orange.

I love the 4-4-2. You did not show the back…I can probably identify the year from the tail lights…

I believe it was a 69

My Cutlass decoder ring:

The 69 has a single vertically oriented tail light lens on each end of the bumper; the 70 has two.

The 71 has two horizontally oriented lenses on each end; the 72 is like the 71 except each lens is divided into three parts.

The 68 has two narrow horizontal lenses arranged end-to-end on each side.

Other model years have drastically different body styles.

it has the single verticle tail lights.
Here is an even better painted on by someone else:

1 Like

I like yours better…

1 Like

Concur with Bill, great job. Nothing beats flames … well maybe not the ones on the Pacer in Wayne’s World. Well, maybe not my '99 RAV4, Blue Icicles would be more appropriate.

1 Like

Thanks guys,