Radio Controlled Car Racing - Available by RSVP only - Saturdays @6pm

I’m starting this new topic to see how many DMS members have any interest in racing R/C cars and/or trucks. I have been racing 1/10 scale electric-powered cars for over 5 years. I frequently raced at Mike’s Hobby Shop (now closed by TxDOT) which was only 3 miles north of DMS.

How many DMS members own a R/C car or truck?

3 Likes

Here is a pic with some of R/C cars that I raced over the last 3 years.

3 Likes

I’d be interested in that. I have some 1/10 cars and one 1/8 car but I could also use some pointers on how to maintain them (such as greasing wheels, removing debris and replacing motors/upgrading). I also need to look at getting better wheels and a better (read: universal) R/C remote.

-the purring dork

2 Likes

Hey David,

I was just thinking about the future of my VTA Xray. I haven’t raced in quite a long time… Here she is with less shoe goo holding the body together.

Joe

2 Likes

I am planning to teach a series of classes on R/C cars. We will cover topics like maintenance in those classes.

2 Likes

Hi Joe, that is a great looking VTA! Not a scratch anywhere on that Boss 302 body. Did you ever race VTA with the gang at Mike’s Hobby Shop?

1 Like

My boys have a 1/16 Summit VXL and a 1/10 rustler
Would love to customize the 1/10 one with some lights
and sounds, maker style!

2 Likes

Lol, yep. I worked with Long and he got me into VTA. I was the one checking
the integrity of the walls along the track. Sadly, that body has quite a
few bumps and bruises.

2 Likes

Oh yes! I remember Long Nguyen and his brother, Stephen, racing VTA at Mike’s. I am hoping that we can gather up the old group from Mike’s and have some parking lot races. Plans are being made.

1 Like

I have an old r/c truck and car that I’ve been wanting to start using again.

2 Likes