Question about Mechanics Tools Available

I am a pretty advanced mechanic and live part-time in the Dallas area; I was trying to find out to what extent there are mechanic tools at DMS.

Do you guys have like impact guns and sockets? Wrenches and such?

How do I get access to the 2 post lift? Even though I own one in Utah, do I need to train with your team to get permission to use it?

How do I schedule a time to use the post lift?

Yes, training is needed specific to DMS. Coming on Thursday evening for the Motorsports meetups is the most reliable way to get that training, usually conducted by @Bizwacky Jason, but there are others who might be able/willing and/or other times, usually by request.

Like most of our tools, first come first served.
We do have the cam so a quick glance can help see if it is indisposed at the time of checking.

Thanks @jast for the information and the cam link, this is very helpful. I will head up there on Thursday, what time does the group meet? 6pm?

Any idea if there are sockets, wrenches, and impact guns there?

Beth says 19:00. I’d believe her. She usually knows stuff. :smiley: Lift class anytime? - #2 by dryad2b
We nominally have wrenches & sockets & impact guns… sometimes locating them & having the ONE you need can be sketchy. If it’s a 10mm, give it up & bring your own.

Thanks so much, I will bring what I have with. Thanks so much for getting back to me. I will check on Thursday if they have a 21mm that will be needed for this fun project. ha

We normally meet at 7 but I’m up there a bit earlier, normally around 6 if that works better for you. We’ve got a pretty good selection of tools, we’ll certainly have a 21mm, although the sockets do tend to migrate themselves around the shop, as @jast mentioned.

1 Like

Thanks Jason; I will ride up there at 630 to make sure I can meet ya. I need to get setup with a Fob and sign the waiver etc. It will be nice to have a place to do the work i need and network as well.

Joe

2 Likes