Question about 3D printer for home use

Looking for reviews of the Creality CR-10 and CR-10s 3D printers for use at home. Would be primarily used by my 13 year old who has saved up $$ to buy one (and who has experience using printer available elsewhere so is not a complete novice)

If not the above printer, any other recommendations?

Thanks

Look at YouTube for a guy with the handle of RCLifeOn. He uses the Creality printers and has reviewed them.

1 Like

Thanks. Appreciate

I have a CR-10 at home, and really like it. There are great Facebook support groups for them, and lots of upgrades on Thingiverse.

Thanks. Do you know what the main difference between the 10 and 10s is?

From Creality’s web site: The difference between CR-10 and CR-10S is CR-10S upgraded with dual Z axies lead screw rod which make printing quality better and more stable.
Another upgrading is CR-10S mainboard with filament monitor function, this function can detect when filament is running out or not.
Resume prints: CR-10S has the ability to resume prints even after a power outage or lapse occurs.

1 Like

Thank you!

I’ve used quite a few printers including the CR-10. The Prusa i3 MK3 is the best for the money. There are cheaper, there are more expensive, but there aren’t any that offer better bang for the buck in my opinion. The only reason I’d go with the CR-10 is if you have a specific need for a build volume that size.

1 Like

Thanks. I will go have a look at the printer you recommended. I do not believe there is a need for large build sizes so this is very helpful

This is what I bought. It’s the kit form. Took me about six hours to assemble. The assembly manual is superb.

Their factory tour is very impressive in every possible way. I respect the way they choose to operate and conduct business.

4 Likes

Thanks Luke. This post is pushing me to get my own 3D printer as well.