Potential new member

good afternoon everyone. I’m considering joining the space but like most people I have concerns about available training. I would hate to sign up just to only be able to look at most of the equipment indefinitely. I am a CNC machinist and programmer. I work on 3, 3+2, and 5 axis mills, making mostly aerospace, medical, and military components. I also have an OSHA 10 hour training cert for general industry safety and health. Could having this count towards some of the training requirements needed? at least until classes actually start to become more available?

2 Likes

Greetings. You will need to reach out to the chair of the equipment your wanting to utilize for an exemption.

Classes cover 2 things. Safety and how to use the equipment for those that have never used a tool. Also our expectations and how we do things for those that have used the tool before. For example, don’t adjust the Z height on 3D poly printers even if you have one at home unless your cleared to do so by 3D fab.

If you tag @team_(insert committee here) it will bring it to their attention.

1 Like

What exactly are you interested in?

We can only direct you if we know what you are wanting to do.

thank you guys. my main interest is in the wood, automotive, and metal shops. and I would be willing to assist in the machine shop if needed.

Chances are good… that’s @Team_Machine_Shop. Metal Shop is more welding and hot metal, although some of the saws and grinders are there as well.