PlasmaCAM Questions

I’m relatively new to the PlasmaCAM, have taken the class and made a few cuts on my own, but would like to do some more detailed cuts and am running into issues with the settings. The last few attempts have lead to some pretty bad warping on the 14 GA and 16 GA sheet I was working. I was using fine cut consumables, but later realized I was referencing the wrong cut charts (as I guess the ones by the machine are for the original PowerMax 1000?). That being said I ran one slower than I should have and one faster than I should have and got pretty significant warping on both. I did alternate cuts around the piece and only made a few cuts at time between rests to let the metal cool. I realize I’m working on the thinner side of material and warping happens, but after watching the cut and seeing the angle of the kerf, I’m thinking it’s a cut height issue. Which brings me to my questions:

• How does the cut height on the machine work?
  • The Wiki says the machine does have a digital height control, but it’s my understanding this isn’t functional?
  • I set the z height using the penny method, but there are a bunch of settings for height under the machine tab of the software. It seems like if I manually set the height, but then there are also settings for pierce height, cut height, z adjustments, material thickness, etc. they would just build on each other or something. I clearly just don’t understand how it all works! While I was watching it run though it did seem like the torch would raise up move, but then not lower all the way back down to where I had manually set it.

Sorry for the ramble, but any advice or help would be greatly appreciated! I’m fascinated by this machine and the possibilities for its use, just need to figure it all out!