Pallet Racks for Robot Combat Arena

Dallas Area Robot Combat is looking for pallet racks to build our arena. This will allow us to setup and breakdown the arena quickly and transport it easily. I’m planning on an 8’x8’ arena by doubling up two 96" shelves next to each other.
Like two of these…
http://www.uline.com/Product/Detail/H-5718/Pallet-Racks/2-Shelf-Pallet-Rack-Starter-Unit-96-x-48-x120

Does anyone have any connections on obtaining some shelving like this, maybe we can get a better price or partial donation?
Any feedback would be helpful as I have never worked with this type of shelving before.

1 Like

You could use the pallet racks currently over jewelry in the workshop if you help relocate the current things on them.

Oh look, a completely empty shelving unit with 50% more shelf area than current configuration over jewelry looks to be available to free up the pallet racks

1 Like

that sounds perfect, are there any pictures of the shelves, or dimensions?

I would ensure that DPRG and RC committee are firmly onboard with this idea before proceeding.

2 Likes

DARC is the Robot Combat Interest Group, we’re not associated with DPRG, we are an interest group underneath the RC Committee.

The pallet rack shelving over jewelry is roughly 4x8

Do-ocracy does not require unanimous consent, is dprg going to object to getting more storage space? Unlikely

That’s the perfect size, I’d like to check with whoever “owns” the shelves. Are they just considered general storage or are they owned by a committee?

They should be asked as they may have an objection. Plus yhey have a rental agreement with DMS - if you’d been at the BoD meeting DPRG storage was specifically discussed.

Right now being up high reduces chance of theft and or damage. So, Yes, they may care. The involved committees should be making these decisions or the BoD.

Suggestions welcome - but hands off moving anything until approved by the interested parties is a good policy.