Old boat engine fixup

I have a boat with an old 170 Mercruiser 3.7L engine, it hasn’t been run in like 5-10 years and im hoping to see if there is still life in the old gal or if i need to spend the almost $3500 on a total engine replacement.

Hoping to find someone who might be able to come check it out and walk me through care of the engine. I have limited Mechanical knowledge. I can do the oil change on a car, and that is about it.

First big check: does it rotate when you trn the starter.

• If it does, then at least it isn’t frozen.
  • If it doesn’t. pull the plugs and squirt something like Marvel Mystery Oil into the cylinders and let it soak a couple of days to break the rings free. Then try again. If it turns you’ll probably still need to pull the heads or borescope to see how much damage to cylinder walls

If it is still locked up, probably need a total rebuild or replacement.
Others can give their recommendations of what to do, there are various approaches. But “Is the engine frozen?” the first big diagnostic.

ok probably should have stated this in the original:
no key, (lost to the same place odd socks go and pocket change comes from)
there is NO battery

is there anything i can do to see if i can get it working? I have all sorts of fine machine oils. really just want to see if the shaft turns

There’s probably a large bolt on crank pulley, see if you can get it to rotate that way using a socket and long handled ratchet with or without cheater bar.

You can by-pass ignition to just try starter: Negative to the engine block, follow the cable from starter to solenoid and touch positive to it.

should i still remove the spark plugs before turning it?

also what else should i try before manually turning