Newbie alert - How to effectively power my ESP8266 in a remote location

Hey everyone.

Introduction:
I’ve only been around DMS for a couple months, and my attendance is sporadic, as I reside in Fort Worth. However, I did get the opportunity to take Brady’s Arduino Sensors class, led by Nick. I have since done a beginner project (wifi-enabled power outlet) based off an Instructable and Brady’s curriculum for Blynk (I have a standing conflict on Thu nights during football season, when Brady seems to teach most of his classes, so I just took the material and worked it out myself).

I have another project in mind, and I have contacted Brady. However, I wanted to get any/all brains I can. WARNING: I an a total novice when it comes to circuits, electronics, etc. I am currently auditing an intro to electronics course on Coursera to help expand my very basic understanding.

Project:
I want to use ESP8266 and the Blynk app to be able to use an app button to control a servo to lock/unlock my gate. I have an elementary idea sketched up using a servo, clevis, pushrod, and steel dowel to push through the lock hole in gate latch. However, the ESP8266 needs pretty constant 3.3v supply to always be “listening” for a lock/unlock request. I have found a similar project that uses a solar panel and Li-Ion batteries, although the comments seem to indicate others have not had success… Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance. I am really enjoying DMS, and I hope to make more use of it in the future.

1 Like

My route for estimating on solar powered setups is to measure how much power the device uses and then try to calculate how much money you’d spend on batteries and panels. After that I choose to wire it up somehow instead of using solar.

Let’s say your device uses 3.3V, and at an average of 200mA. You’d need 15.8 watt hours (3.3X0.2X24) to make it through a 24 hour period.