New to painting on plates

Hi there; I’m new to the idea of painting on plates. So my big issues are what type of pint is best to use on store bought plates and then how to I make them functional? I have one plate that was done with water
based enamels and oven cured (supposedly, not very trusting) and another that was done with porcelain 150. what can I do to save these pieces? can I do a clear glaze and oven bake or clear glaze and take them somewhere to be fired. What is the best way from the beginning, should I get bisque plates, paint then glaze and fire?. I not only want to make my own set of dishes for my home but have a friend that would like a dish that could be usable or decorative for her place. PLEASE HELP

1 Like

I would get bisque plates and then glaze and fire them. A shop like The Kiln & I in Plano could probably pour the plates with cone 6 slip, otherwise they will likely be low fire.

Thank you. Would you be able to tell me about the type of paint I should use?

Welcome!
I agree with Julie, getting slip cast plates made with cone 6 slip in greenware (not fired) or bisque (fired).

The “paint” I would recommend, and is new potter friendly would be Stroke and Coates. They stay right where you put them them put them and come in a wide range of colors, and beautiful for design work. Then clear glaze over the whole plate. (Except the foot)

China painting is when you paint layers on already glazed porcelain plates. I have not seen anyone China paint in 20 years.:weary::weary:

Without looking at the plates you’ve already got, we can’t really say how they might be made functional. I’d be inclined to just get plate hangers and put them on the wall. If they’ve had anything with the word “paint” put on them, I wouldn’t put a glaze on them, and I wouldn’t put them in the kiln for sure. I’m not sure about the food-safety aspect of any oven glaze.