New To Makerspace

Hello everyone, my name is Andrew Bittner. Very excited to get involved with makerspace. First ill give my background, I have been a manual machinist/ tool maker/ welder/ fabricator for 20 years. I have worked for a wide variety of industries including Tool and Die making, medical device, wind generator and electric motor repair, aerospace. I am currently working during the day at University of Texas at Dallas in the mechanical engineering department machining and instructing engineering students in machining practices and machine shop basics. In the evening I work for a stamping production shop as a toolmaker. I would very much like to start teaching some classes at makerspace but need some feed back from current instructors on what they have already been offering. I also want to know what other members want to learn so i can create classes that current members want to attend. What training do I need to do to be able to use the equipment? Obviously a few safety classes for liability reasons but I’m not sure what else since i already have lots of of experience. Looking forward to getting to know folks and having fun so replay back (tom foolery is welcome)

13 Likes

@nicksilva @Photomancer

I’m new to DMS as well. I know a few of us are very interested in a hands on MIG & TIG welding class as a follow up to the safety course. I’d definitely sign up if you got approved to teach those classes as I think there’s a shortage of available instructors.

Shinpei

I would suggest MIG first, get comfortable with that process then move on to TIG. They are two drastically different processes. I personally enjoy TIG more but it takes a lot of practice and skill. That is why learning the basics with MIG helps. I would want to do two separate classes, one for each process.