New to Makerspace! Looking for Sublimation help :)

Hello! My name is Brad. I’m new to Makerspace. Looking for some one to show me around the printing area to familiarize me with all the machines. My schedule is pretty flexible. I will also need classes/instructions to run the equipment. My main goals are

A) Produce a sticker
B) Print images onto a cloth and vinyl material
C) Overall understanding of laser printers and how to adjust the settings for the ink to transfer to different types of paper better.

Looking forward to meeting everyone!

2 Likes

Dye sublimation will do part of one of your wants. With dye sublimation you can put images on performance fabrics (polyester). I’m not sure exactly what your cloth and vinyl material is, but a lot of vinyl product can’t withstand the high temperatures used in dye sublimation. Dye sub can also be used to decorate lots of other substrates, as well. I am in the process of redesigning my Dye Sub 101 class to make it easier to teach. It currently take both my wife and I, and her schedule is massively booked these days. The printer for dye sublimation uses ink jet technology, it is not a laser printer, and it is only for printing dye sub transfers.

For stickers, I assume you want to learn to use the vinyl cutter. I don’t currently see any classes on the calendar, but there are usually a couple a month. Calling @talkers, are you planning a Vinyl Cutter and Button class soon?

Laser printers use dry toner, not ink, and the only one we have at the Makerspace is the copier outside the Interactive classroom. I’m not sure how adjustable the settings are on it. What kinds of paper are you trying to print on that are causing you problems?

Thanks for your quick response! I have a Ricoh Laser jet printer at my office that I am having issues with getting the setting right. I print on a glosstex card stock. After around 10 prints the toner fails to adhere to the paper in some areas.