New member question

Hello! I am new to DMS and have seen the chat about people, rudely, leaving used oil in the automotive area. My question is, I have an unopened bottle of gear oil I’d like to leave for anyone to use, would the shelf with the organized bottles be the best place so as it isn’t viewed as “leaving behind”?

1 Like

@Team_Automotive

if @TLAR says it’s ok then that would be the spot. However, donations to committees (especially stuff that can’t just be thrown away if unwanted) need to go through the committee or the chair.

-Jim

1 Like

Thanks! I’m also glad you responded as I am wanting to speak with someone in the metalshop. What would be the best way to ask a few questions, when you have a moment?

You can always PM me, post in the Metal category, or catch me at the space whilst I’m there. I’m probably going to be back this evening working on my steel tubing bumper for my Ridgeline. I bent the core pieces last night and need to notch and tack it for next steps

Cheers,
-Jim

1 Like

There is a slide and a conversation on donations in Automotive 101, which is one of the many reasons this is a required class before using the Automotive area, and it keeps a new member for getting a bunch of different answers.

In the case of gear oil, that third shelf to the right side of the lift is for fluids. Members are welcome to leave un-used fluids, in their proper containers for others to share. Brake fluid is commonly used as an example in class, as rarely do members use a full bottle. Almost every slide in Auto 101 has caveats, so in this case- we have always had a policy about not leaving battery acid of other materials which require ‘special care’.

1 Like