Need advice on a resin table idea

I have a few cookies that I want to make some end tables out of. I’ve never worked with resin before so I have a few questions.

First, do I need to plane them before I pour the resin in the cracks?

Second, I just want the resin to fill the cracks I don’t want them to be covered in resin. What resin is recommended for that?

The wood is mulberry and they range from 6% to 15% moisture in case it matters.

Any advice is appreciated.

1 Like

I don’t know much about this but my initial thought is that you’re almost certainly going to have a little slop when pouting the resin. Planing the whole thing after doing the resin will clean it all up. This is perfect Multicam work :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yep…I’d surface afterwards. Challenging part will be damming up the crack so resin doesn’t leak/drain (unless there are techniques that make this easy?).

You mentioned end tables, but if one in last pic sits stable/flat on the floor, it seems tailor-made (grown? cut?) to be a base for something. lol…outcroppings look like hooves!

3 Likes

That one actually needs the most work to stabilize, but it’s the thickest so it could work as the base for something. I only need 2 end tables so I need to figure out what to do with the rest.

Would it be possible to use 2-part epoxy, which is much more viscous than resin, to create a seal/dam on the bottom and possibly ends of the larger cracks? You could possibly use some crinkled up aluminum foil on the outside of the epoxy dam as an outer perimeter for the epoxy while it hardens.

1 Like