Moodle - Learn.DallasMakerspace.org

Hi All!

Last week we upgraded and resurrected the https://learn.dallasmakerspace.org platform, running Moodle LMS.

There’s been a lot of interest, which is awesome! An existing 3D Fab course for the PolyPrinter basics is already up, and several committees have already asked about getting some courses on the platform.

Is there any interest in a quick class on what the platform is capable of and how to design a basic course? I’m not a bonified expert in Moodle by any means, but I’ve designed corporate education and can show how to get a course and videos online.

On another note, what courses would people be interested in seeing? I know we’ll be getting another 3D Fab course up, but the platform can do a number of different kind of courses. I’d love to hear some ideas or intents for online courses.

13 Likes

Sounds interesting.

I’m in.

1 Like

We could possibly make a cleaning video??

7 Likes

Lol, was thinking more of classes, but yes, maybe the 101 intro. to where things are could work.

4 Likes

In fact, all joking aside, that’s a fabulous idea. Incl things that have bollixed me in the past like how to refill stuff (paper towels, soap) or mob buckets/mops or the vacuums.

We could title it “Leave it How You Found It!”

Also leads one on into 101/intro “classes” for each committee area as to what is available and where everything is. Of course, this means updating and keeping current on occasion…

4 Likes

I’m in. :blankspace:

I would like to learn the capabilities of Moodle. I’d like to turn the Dye Sub 101 into a Moodle class with an in-person check off.

3 Likes

Love this, thanks for getting it going again.

I’d love to see a few basic classes that transcend individual tools.

• Basics of CNC (less duplication needed in other classes)
  • Jump Server 101 (a lot of our less technical folks always seem to struggle with this one)
  • A Moodle class development class
4 Likes