Microsoft Revolutionizes the Data Center...By Keeping Them Underwater

Microsoft Revolutionizes the Data Center…By Keeping Them Underwater

3 Likes

So who’s going to be the first one to schedule a class on Underwater Data Center Management?

Too bad April has come and gone already…

4 Likes

This reminds me of Google’s preference for building DCs next to lakes, and heat-exchanging into the lake, for an apparent energy savings over using cooling towers. Google also runs their DCs at an interior temperature at or above 80F.

As a former DC technician, I would prefer not to.

Rumor has it M$ does 90F. Presumably trying to best Google at their own game.
Not a fan, myself, either…

As long as airflow and overall DC air mass is sufficient, the servers will perform identically, whether room temperature is 50 degrees or 90 degrees. But if you’re starting at 90 and experience a cooling failure, you’re at a lot greater risk of things reaching critical temps before cooling is recovered- even at 90, a server room still needs a lot of cooling.

Not to mention, high DC temps discourage technician presence. And attentive technicians are a much better early warning system than any sensor suite.

Burn the land, boil the sea
But you can’t take the sky from me

3 Likes

Data centers have nothing on the heat the Hanford project dumped into the Columbia river. Multiple reactors running river water through the cores and back to the river in the 40s, 50s and probaly later before they added heat exchangers.

Only if the present crop of cryptocurrencies keep on scaling.