Metaza discussion 6/14/21

Let me start with the apologies – this is most likely going to be more fully addressed in the July meeting, but I wanted to bring up the topic.

@dougemes – as I understand it, the Metaza is sort of dead. Mostly unrepairable, yes?

That said, I’m assuming that we want some machine of this sort available, so it’s time to think about buying a replacement. I have zero experience with this type of machine, so I have no clue what to look for or at, nor where to start. I certainly don’t want to make the mistake of the Janome machines, where we went for fancy and wound up with delicate.

3 Likes

It looks like the current model that Roland is selling, the Metaza MPX-95, has a base price of $4,995. Adding on the Gift Marking Kit, which includes a center vise with clamp pins and head caps brings it to $6,395.

2 Likes

If there’s something that needs machined or welded I’m happy to volunteer to help with the repairs.

2 Likes

Is this something we use enough to justify spending that much?

1 Like

We bought the original one used for $500. You can read the details at this earlier post.

I’ve used it, liked using it, and would probably use it again. But I’m much more interested at the $500 price level, not the $6400 price level.

I see at least one used one and various replacement parts available on eBay. Maybe there’s something in the replacement parts that would bring this thing back to life.

3 Likes

I would use it!!!
A tufting gun would be nice too :rofl:…just sayin

1 Like

It will take someone with far better eyesight than I to try and disassemble to replace the failed limit switch mechanism for the threaded rod axis. @themitch22 had mentioned he might be game to look at it.

Replacement technologies fall into a couple of areas:
For some tasks, a diamond engraving bit will scratch things fine, which could run in either of the shapeoko’s. Example no-name endmill: https://www.amazon.com/DIAMOND-SPRING-LOADED-ENGRAVING-DEGREE/dp/B07DMLN88W