Membership and Facilities

I am currently a student and I am interested in becoming a member of Dallas Makerspace. I have a few questions:

1. I know that there is a discount for students. When I sign up online, where do I mention that I am a student?

2. Before becoming a member, I would like to get a tour of the place. How do I sign up for the tour?

3. How much does the Dallas maker space charge for 3D printing and what materials is the 3D printer capable of printing?

4. If I want to use the machines but don’t know how to, will there be staff that will help and assist me?

5. Does Dallas maker space have CNC machines and machines/tools which cut metal?

6. Does Dallas maker space offer lessons, training, or classes?

1 Like

I’ll answer the ones I can.

3D Printing is “free” if you bring your own filament, otherwise it’s $0.10 per gram, regardless of whether the print failed or succeeded. You do need to pass the training on the printer, and one big caveat is that you cannot leave the makerspace while your print is running, and there’s a queue which is a waitlist by phone.

DMS has no staff. Period. Everyone is a volunteer, if you notice something not being done, take it upon yourself to do it yourself for yourself and others. You think something needs to change, take charge. It’s a bit of our motto.

With that said, I’ve only met one person at DMS that wasn’t friendly and wanted to help me with anything they had knowledge about. There are regular classes, and training is required (and therefor offered on a best try basis) for quite a few pieces of equipment. With the 3D printers specifically there’s a an online class that gets you started using them.

Yup. We have an entire machine shop. 3 Knee Mills (two are up an running right now iirc), 2 full size lathes, and a CNC mill. All require training, we have classes from time to time, they’re a few threads in the Members Only area of talk about it.