Looking for metalwork help

Hi all!

I’m hoping to find someone willing/able to manufacture a couple of metal gobos for me. (I’m a photographer, and have lost the set of gobo patterns I got with a spot projector. I can’t add another link to show the product, but perhaps I can in a follow-up post…?

The gobos are 58mm wide, not sure of the height, and they are very thin metal – perhaps 1-2mm in thickness? Although I’d probably never use the fancy patterns, the main ones I’m hoping to recreate are the (small) circle and the slit.
rosco-gam-steel-gobo-pin-spot-c-3-4.jpg

2020-new-style-Gobos-Optical-Spot-Conical-Snoot-Slider-Graphics-Universal-DIY-Background-Light-Effect-Pattern.jpg_960x960.jpg

Is anyone able to help me create these?

Thanks so much, and Merry Christmas!
William

The projector spot system with the original rectangular gobos is pictured here: https://ae01.alicdn.com/kf/HTB11TnPXIrrK1RjSspaq6AREXXa2/AMBITFUL-AL-16-Focalize-Conical-Snoot-Optical-Condenser-Art-Special-Effects-Shaped-Beam-Light-Cylinder-with.jpg_q50.jpg.
Hopefully that helps…?

I would thing that using a laser printed photo resist and etching these out of thin brass plate with ferric chloride might work. This is a technique used for circuit board layout.

If just wanting a straight slit or square you could cold chisel them out of flat stock or use a thin coping/jewelry saw and then file/sand to a clean edge. The small metals/jewelry area might be of more help than Metal shop.

The fine details are probably too finicky for the plasma or other tools in Metal Shop.

2 Likes

Much appreciated. I’ll look for the other forum.

The fine details may be engravable in a thin material with a sacrificial support using the Haas or a shapeoko.

@Team_Machine_Shop

@MortonVisuals what type of metal are they made out of?