Laguna bandsaw tracking left?

Has anyone else had issues with the Laguna bandsaw tracking left for tall resawing? I was trying to resaw a 10” tall piece of walnut and each time the blade tracks left. Not sure if this is user error or an issue with the upper guides.

10 inch tall x (?)?

I am by no means an expert or even good, so hopefully someone else will chime in.

However…

As a rule, I always resaw on the smallest/shortest end.
Less of a chance for blade flex.

10”x22” so 10 was the short side

Oh.
Well damn.

@dwolf is exploring our options regarding replacing or rejuvenating the ceramic blade guides. Sorry you stock was mutilated.

Some one keeps adjusting the fence ! I came in yesterday found someone using the band saw.They had a clamp at one end of the fence down and manually adjust while cutting there board for the drift your talking about… @dwolf said he tighten the fence down last week… I checked the drift a month back and found the fence loose…

The bandsaw does need new guides and drift needs to be set up again… the guides keep the blade from twisting which is part of cause of your cut in the board…

we only have two ways to resaw boards . The laguna and the table saw:. Now we are down to one…

Who ever keeps messing with the fence you need to stop! Setting the fence for drift is no easy peasy task!

1 Like

If you use the table saw:

• Make sure you are using the ripping blade.
  • For wide boards consider supporting the board with a straight board clamped to the fence [making the fence higher]. You want to make sure you don’t “tilt” the board as you are cutting [the higher fence helps support the board].
  • Take smaller cuts - don’t raise the blade to its highest position on the first pass. Making multiple cuts will help keep the blade centered and have less chance of stalling or burning your cut.

Couple of videos on the subject:

1 Like